English VersionIrish Version
Search for Click to Search
Advanced Search
Printable Version
All SectionsPractice DirectionsCourt Rules Terms & Sittings
Legal Diary Offices & Maps Judgments & Determinations

Architecture and heritage

Responsibility for the provision of court buildings and their maintenance resided with the Office of Public Works and the Local Authorities until November 1999 when the Courts Service was established. Though much progress was made in the years just prior to 1999, over the previous several decades, court building and maintenance programmes had been seriously under-funded. The Service has taken the opportunity to provide, manage and maintain court buildings enabling justice to be administered to all court users in dignified, suitable and fully equipped buildings.

Some 148 courthouses have been designated as of local, regional or national importance. These buildings are considered to form part of the architectural heritage of the city or town and as such, are protected structures. The courthouses are generally prominently located and add to the visual character of the towns, as befits such an important public institution, giving to it a sense of history and continuity.

The following links to a selection of courthouses around Ireland give a flavour of both the history and architectural background to these impressive structures.

Ardee courthouse, Co. Louth

Athy Courthouse

Ballyshannon courthouse Co. Donegal

Blanchardstown courthouse, Dublin 15

Bray courthouse, Co. Wicklow

Carlow Courthouse

Castlebar courthouse Co. Mayo

Clonmel courthouse, Co. Tipperary

Cloverhill courthouse, Dublin 22

Cork: Washington Street courthouse, Cork city

Cork: Anglesea Street Courthouse, Cork city

Carrickmacross courthouse

Dublin Criminal Courts of Justice

Drogheda Courthouse, Co. Louth

Galway city courthouse

Ennis courthouse, Co Clare

Fermoy courthouse, Co. Cork

Kilkenny courthouse 

Kilmallock courthouse, Co. Limerick

Kilrush courthouse, Co. Clare

Letterkenny courthouse, Co. Donegal

Limerick courthouse, Limerick city

Limerick courthouse, Mulgrave Street, Limerick

Lismore courthouse, Co. Waterford

Longford courthouse

Monaghan courthouse

Navan courthouse, Co. Meath

Nenagh courthouse, Co. Tipperary

Portlaoise courthouse, Co. Laois

Sligo courthouse, Co. Sligo

Thurles courthouse, Co. Tipperary

Trim courthouse, Co. Meath

Tullamore courthouse, Co. Offaly

Waterford Courthouse

Wexford Courthouse


A visit to the Four Courts &Criminal Courts of Justice