English VersionIrish Version
Search for Click to Search
Advanced Search
Printable Version
All SectionsPractice DirectionsCourt Rules Terms & Sittings
Legal Diary Offices & Maps Judgments

Courts Service Board


The Court Service Board consists of seventeen members, of which nine are members of the judiciary. The function of the Board is to consider and determine policy in relation to the Service, and to oversee the implementation of that policy by the Chief Executive Officer.

Membership of the Board:

The Hon. Mrs. Justice Susan Denham, Chairperson, Chief Justice of Ireland.

The Hon. Mr. Justice Nial Fennelly,Judge of the Supreme Court,
elected by the ordinary judges of the Supreme Court.

The Hon. Mr. Justice Nicholas Kearns, President of the High Court.

vacancy, Judge of the High Court,
elected by the ordinary judges of the High Court.

The Hon. Mr. Justice Raymond Groarke, President of the Circuit Court.

His Honour Judge Rory Mac Cabe, Judge of the Circuit Court,
Elected by the ordinary judges of the Circuit Court.

Her Honour Judge Rosemary Horgan, President of the District Court.

Judge Gerard Haughton, Judge of the District Court,
Elected by the ordinary judges of the District Court.

The Hon. Mr. Justice Paul Gilligan, Judge of the High Court,
nominated by the Chief Justice in respect of his experience or expertise in a specific area of court business.

Mr. Brendan Ryan, Chief Executive Officer.

Mr. David Nolan S.C.
nominated by the Chairman of the Bar Council of Ireland.

Mr. Gerard Doherty, Solicitor,
nominated by the President of the Law Society of Ireland.

Mr. John Glennon,
elected by the staff of the Service.

Dr. Deirdre O'Keeffe, Assistant Secretary, Department of Justice and Equality,
an Officer of the Minister nominated by the Minister.

Mr. Pat Doyle,
nominated by the Minister to represent the consumers of the services provided by the courts.

Mr. Liam Berney, 
nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions.

Mr. Shane Browne,
nominated by the Minister for relevant knowledge and experience in commerce, finance or administration.

Committees of the Board

The Board of the Service can authorise a committee of the Board or the Chief Executive Officer to perform many of its functions or powers. The following committees deal with a range of issues:

  • Finance Committee,
  • Building Committee,
  • Family Law Court Development Committee,
  • District Court Review Committee,
  • Audit Committee,
  • Steering Committee to Provide Information on Sentencing.


This page updated: 09 September 2013