English VersionIrish Version
Search for Click to Search
Advanced Search
Printable Version
All SectionsPractice DirectionsCourt Rules Terms & Sittings
Legal Diary Offices & Maps Judgments & Determinations

Courts Service Board

The Court Service Board consists of eighteen members, of which ten are members of the judiciary. The function of the Board is to consider and determine policy in relation to the Service, and to oversee the implementation of that policy by the Chief Executive Officer.

Board meetings

Code of business conduct for Courts Service Board members

Terms of reference of Courts Service Board


Membership of the Board:

The Hon. Mr. Justice Frank Clarke, Chairperson, Chief Justice of Ireland

The Hon. Mr. George Bermingham, President of the Court of Appeal

The Hon. Mr. Justice Peter Kelly, President of the High Court

The Hon. Ms. Justice Elizabeth Dunne, judge of the Supreme Court,
elected by the ordinary judges of the Supreme Court

The Hon. Mr. Justice Michael Peart, judge of the Court of Appeal
elected by the ordinary judges of the Court of Appeal

The Hon. Mr. Justice Seamus Noonan, judge of the High Court,
elected by the ordinary judges of the High Court

The Hon. Ms. Justice Patricia Ryan, President of the Circuit Court.

Her Honour Judge Alice Doyle, judge of the Circuit Court,
Elected by the ordinary judges of the Circuit Court

His Honour Judge Colin Daly, President of the District Court

Judge Conal Gibbons, judge of the District Court,
elected by the judges of the District Court

Ms. Angela Denning, Chief Executive Officer of the Courts Service

Mr. Micheál O'Higgins S.C.
Chairman of the Bar Council of Ireland

Mr. Michael Quinlan, Solicitor,
President of the Law Society of Ireland

Mr. Damien Downey,
elected by the staff of the Service

Mr. Doncha O'Sullivan, Department of Justice and Equality
an officer of the Minister nominated by the Minister

Ms. Karen Kiernan,
nominated by the Minister to represent the consumers of the services provided by the courts

Ms. Patricia King, 
nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions

Ms. Deirdre Kiely,
nominated by the Minister for relevant knowledge and experience in commerce, finance or administration

Committees of the Board

The Board of the Service can authorise a committee of the Board or the Chief Executive Officer to perform many of its functions or powers.

The following committees deal with a range of issues:

  • Finance Committee
  • Building Committee
  • Family Law Court Development Committee
  • Audit and Risk Committee


This page updated: 19 September 2019